Skip to main content
eget Menu
John Storgårds conducts Saariaho, Mozart and Sibelius featuring pianist Martin Helmchen
8:00 PM - 11:59 PM Symphony Hall
Date: January 24, 2019 to January 24, 2019
Where: Symphony Hall, 301 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, Massachusetts, United States, 02115
Phone: N/A
Event Type: Arts & Theater
Ticket Price: N/A

Making his BSO subscription series debut, conductor John Storgårds leads pianist Martin Helmchen in Mozart's gregarious, large-scale Piano Concerto in E-flat, K.482, composed in late 1785 when Mozart was also working on his comic opera The Marriage of Figaro. The Finnish Storgårds also brings three Finnish works to Symphony Hall, beginning with Kaija Saariaho's gorgeous study of orchestral color Ciel d'hiver ("Winter Sky"), an arrangement of a movement from her earlier, symphony-like Orion. Jean Sibelius's final two symphonies, nos. 6 and 7, are two of the greatest works in the symphonic literature. Though very different from one another, both demonstrate the composer's distinctively rich orchestration and organic, fluid transformations of material.
Back to top