Skip to main content
eget Menu
Juanjo Mena conducts Haydn, Mendelssohn and Janáček featuring violinist Julian Rachlin
8:00 PM - 11:59 PM Symphony Hall
Date: January 31, 2019 to January 31, 2019
Where: Symphony Hall, 301 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, Massachusetts, United States, 02115
Phone: N/A
Event Type: Arts & Theater
Ticket Price: N/A

The popular Spanish conductor Juanjo Mena collaborates with Lithuanian violinist Julian Rachlin in Mendelssohn's evergreen Violin Concerto, among the most charming works in the standard repertoire. Joseph Haydn's Symphony No. 44, Trauer ("Mourning"), is one of the composer's most serious and closely worked symphonies, written during a period of experimentation that saw the composer rapidly expanding the potential of the genre. Closing the program are two works from the 1920s by the great Czech composer Leoš Janáček: a suite of music from his folk-tale opera The Cunning Little Vixen and his brass-dominated Sinfonietta, both of which feature the pungent influence of the Czech musical tradition.
Back to top