Skip to main content
eget Menu
Shi-Yeon Sung conducts Mendelssohn and Dvořák featuring pianist Ingrid Fliter
1:30 PM - 11:59 PM Symphony Hall
Date: January 04, 2019 to January 04, 2019
Where: Symphony Hall, 301 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, Massachusetts, United States, 02115
Phone: N/A
Event Type: Arts & Theater
Ticket Price: N/A

Returning to Symphony Hall for the first time since her tenure as BSO assistant conductor, Korean-born Shi-Yeon Sung leads a program juxtaposing music of Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel and her brother Felix, surely one of the most brilliant sibling pairs in music history. Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel's Overture in C, her only extant work for orchestra alone (though she wrote several works for chorus with orchestra), is an elegant, ten-minute piece dating from 1830. Begun in the same year, her brother's Piano Concerto No. 1 has a turbulent, Romantic energy; Argentinian pianist Ingrid Fliter is soloist, making her subscription series debut. One of the great 19th-century symphonies, Dvořák's by turns bucolic and thrilling Eighth was composed in 1889 and is arguably his most individual symphony, a departure from the Brahms-influenced Germanic style of his Symphony No. 7.
Back to top