Skip to main content
eget Menu
Sir Andrew Davis conducts Harbison, Mozart and Vaughan Williams featuring pianist Alessio Bax
8:00 PM - 11:59 PM Symphony Hall
Date: January 12, 2019 to January 12, 2019
Where: Symphony Hall, 301 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, Massachusetts, United States, 02115
Phone: N/A
Event Type: Arts & Theater
Ticket Price: N/A

English conductor Sir Andrew Davis and the BSO are joined by Italian pianist Alessio Bax in his BSO debut for one of Mozart's stormiest works, his C minor piano concerto, No. 24, one of the unsurpassed series of concertos from the height of his Vienna popularity. Opening the concert is Pulitzer Prize-winning composer John Harbison's 1986 Symphony No. 2, the four movements of which are called "Dawn," "Daylight," "Dusk," and "Darkness"-keys to its evolving expressive and musical character. This is one of several Harbison works being performed this year to mark the 80th birthday year of a composer closely associated with the BSO. Steeped in the musical tradition of England, Vaughan Williams's Fifth Symphony was composed at the beginning of World War II but maintains an optimistic and affirmative outlook.
Back to top